DRIVING WHILE SUSPENDED
DRIVING WITH A SUSPENDED LICENSE
In the state of Florida, diving with a suspended license may result in serious and life-altering consequences. Florida Statute 322.34 defines a Driving While Suspended License (DWSL) offense as driving a motor vehicle on a Florida highway while knowingly having a suspended or revoked license. Punishment for a DWLS charge may be severe, dependent upon your history of offense.
PENALTIES FOR DRIVING WITH A SUSPENDED LICENSE
Punishment for a DWLS charge may be severe, dependent upon your history of offense:
- If you receive 3 or more convictions for DWLS within a 5-year period, you may be classified as a Habitual Traffic Offender and potentially lose your driving privileges for up to 5 years.
- A first conviction for a DWLS charge is a 2nd degree misdemeanor and may result in a fine of up to $500 and up to 60 days in jail.
- A second conviction for a DWLS charge is a 1st degree misdemeanor and can result in a fine of up to $1000 and up to 1 year in county jail.
- A third conviction for a DWLS charge is a 3rd degree felony ad can result in a fine of up to $5,000 and up to 5 years in a Florida state prison.
POTENTIAL DWLS DEFENSE
With an experienced traffic defense attorney such as myself, it is possible to avoid extreme punishments and reduce your DWLS charge down to a simple moving violation or even have the charge dismissed. If you were unaware that your license was suspended, you were not charged on a Florida highway, or you were not in actual physical control of the vehicle, then you have a strong defense.
If you or someone you know is facing a DWLS charge in the Central Florida area, contact me at 850-CALL-JOE. Your initial consultation is free and no case is too small.