DUI ATTORNEY ORLANDO, FL
ORLANDO DUI LAWYER - WE'LL DEFEND YOUR RIGHTS
If you have been arrested for a DUI, you need an experienced, and aggressive DUI lawyer. Joe Knape is ready to fight your battle inside and outside of the courtroom. The 850 Call Joe Law Firm serves the entire central Florida region, including orange county cities like Orlando, Winter Park, Apopka, and more.
Every DUI case in Florida is different because no two drivers or their driving patterns are identical. In Florida, there are two types of traffic violations drivers can receive. The first is a moving violation, and the second is a criminal traffic violation. Our criminal defense attorneys represent our clients for a multitude of cases in Orlando and the surrounding Central Florida area, including DUIs, and drug-related offenses.
PENALTIES AND JAIL TIME FOR DUI CHARGES IN FLORIDA
Given the seriousness of a DUI, it’s common knowledge that the penalties are steep, especially in Flori. Some potential punishments for a first-time offense are jail time, fines, community service, or suspension of the driver’s license. The exact determinations depend on the driver, for example, the penalties for a first-time offense are significantly less severe than a second-time charge, which not only carries jail time or fines but can also lead to vehicle impoundment. If the driver faces a third DUI, the case is now considered a felony DUI, which can be prosecuted by the state attorney and land the driver in prison for multiple years and in thousands of dollars in fines.
PENALTIES FOR DRUNK DRIVING CHARGES IN FLORIDA: FIRST TIME DUI OFFENDERS
The penalties for first time DUI offenders are much less severe than second-time offenders.
Below are some of the penalties that you may incur as a result of your DUI case in Orlando, FL.
- Potential Jail time for a first time DUI offense: 6 Months Maximum (Blood Alcohol Level from .08 to less than .15) – 9 Months Maximum (Blood Alcohol Level above .15) instead of imprisonment, the judge may order that you complete a treatment program.
- Fines for a first DUI Offense in Orlando: You may be charged from $500 to $1,000 a Blood Alcohol Level From .08 to less than .15. For a blood alcohol level of .15 or higher, or if there was a minor present within the vehicle, you may be charged from $1,000 to $2,000.
- Community Service for first DUI Offense: The typical required amount of community service hours for your first DUI is 50 hours. In some cases, these hours can be “bought” out of.
- Vehicle Impoundment: If you have been charged with a DUI in Orlando or anywhere in Orange County, then your car will usually be impounded for 10 Days. Special exceptions exist for these 10 days, but that is the typical sentence for a first time DUI offender.
- Driver’s License Suspension: You will be suspended for at least 6 months for a 1st DUI conviction. You are already likely suspended by the DHSMV for either refusing to submit to the breathalyzer or providing a breath sample above the legal limit.
- Vehicle Ignition Interlock Device: This is a breathalyzer in your car and if you are charged with a BAC above .15 you can likely expect this device to be part of your minimum sentence for 6 months. This device will not allow your car to start if you cannot produce an alcohol-free breath sample. This part of the sentence doesn’t start until you can get your driver’s license back which makes it more challenging to be successful on probation.
Each DUI case varies, and these are only some of the penalties you may incur from your Orlando DUI case. However, you may incur more penalties if you get an inexperienced attorney to defend your case for you. We encourage you to not let that happen and hire a reputable criminal defense attorney from the 850-CALL-JOE law firm to handle your case.
PENALTIES FOR A SECOND DRUNK DRIVING OFFENSE FLORIDA
In Orlando, if you are a multiple DUI offender with two or more convictions in ten years, the penalties for your actions increase dramatically. Penalties for a second DUI offense in Florida will vary from case to case. However, below are some of the typical penalties that can be incurred for a second DUI offense.
- Jail time for second DUI offense: 9 Months Maximum (Blood Alcohol Level from .08 to less than .15) – 12 Months Maximum (Blood Alcohol Level above .15) or if you had a minor in the vehicle. If you are charged with your second DUI within 5 years of your previous DUI, then you may have to spend 10 days in jail.
- Fines for a Second DUI Offense in Orlando: You may be charged from $1,000 to $2,000 a Blood Alcohol Level From .08 to less than .15. For a blood alcohol level of .15 or higher, or if there was a minor present within the vehicle, you may be charged from $2,000 to $4,000.
- Probation Period for Second DUI Offense: The probation period for your second drunk driving offense in Orlando is typically 12 months.
- Vehicle Impoundment: If you have been charged with a DUI within the past 5 years then your car will be impounded for 30 Days. Special exceptions exist for these 30 days, but that is the typical sentence for a second DUI offense.
- Driver’s License Suspension: You will be suspended for at least 6 months for a 2nd DUI conviction when the first DUI conviction was more than 5 years prior. The Judge can sentence you to a greater suspension and the DHSMV will more than likely suspend you for a longer period than the 6 months on a second conviction. If the second arrest occurs within 5 years of the first conviction you are looking at a minimum 5-year driver’s license suspension. It is very likely that you are already suspended by the DHSMV for either refusing to submit to the breathalyzer or providing a breath sample above the legal limit.
- Vehicle Ignition Interlock Device: This is a breathalyzer in your car and if you are charged with a BAC above .15 you can likely expect this device to be part of your minimum sentence for 6 months. This device will not allow your car to start if you cannot produce an alcohol-free breath sample. This part of the sentence doesn’t start until you can get your driver’s license back which makes it more challenging to be successful on probation. A second DUI conviction will carry with it a mandatory ignition interlock device.
PENALTIES FOR A FELONY DUI IN FLORIDA
The state attorney can choose to prosecute you as a third-degree felony instead of a misdemeanor. Because a third DUI carries a mandatory conviction, if you are charged with a felony DUI and lose the DUI defense case either by plea bargain as charged or by trial, you will lose civil rights and be classified as a convicted felon.
Depending on the circumstances of your DUI case in Orlando, the penalties you face can increase rapidly. Penalties increase if while being charged with your DUI you damaged someone else’s property. This property damage will be used against your case to increase the penalties you could face.
For repeat offenders in Florida, DUI penalties can increase very fast.
For example, if you are convicted of a third DUI within ten years or a fourth DUI at any time, you face a third-degree felony conviction which comes with a $5,000 fine and a jail sentence of up to 5 years.
These penalties can be imposed if you are convicted of another DUI in Florida even without the involvement of an accident or serious injury.
DUI'S AND YOUR REPUTATION
While a driver who has committed a DUI faces serious legal consequences for the offense, one of the most damaging impacts is your reputation. A “double-edged sword,” a DUI will not only damage your driving record, but it will also affect your criminal record. Not only will you now have it on your record, but committing the offense, especially if it results in a felony charge and conviction, can make it difficult for you to land a job in the future since many employers require job applicants to indicate if they’ve ever been convicted of a felony under the law.
WHY YOU NEED TO CONTACT A FL DUI LAWYER TODAY
Driving Under the Influence in Orlando Florida is a serious crime. You need the help of a DUI lawyer in Florida and you need it now!
These criminal defense charges should not be taken lightly. If you are found guilty, there may be jail time involved, there will certainly be court and attorney costs, fines, and you will have a criminal record that can negatively affect your future from getting a job to renting & living home.
If you have been charged with any form of Driving Under the Influence, experienced legal representation is key. The best thing you can do is to hire a criminal defense attorney who has experience fighting drunk-driving cases.
Call Orlando DUI Attorney Joe Knape and get a Free Consultation today! The 850-CALL-JOE law firm has defense attorneys with years of experience dealing with driving under the influence cases throughout Central Florida and Orange County. Our criminal defense team will state your case, aggressively represent you, and make sure that you get the best DUI defense available.
We are located just minutes from downtown Orlando. Payment plans are available and all major credit cards are accepted.